Magnificent Desolation
An Invitation from Apollo Astronaut Jim Lovell

Dear NSS Supporter,

Like you, I have never been on the Moon.

Like you, I would like to know the experience of walking on that unearthly landscape, watching kicked-up moondust drift pass my faceplate, and seeing unfiltered stars over lunar mountains. I will never do that, although some of you might, someday.

In the meantime, I would like to invite all of you to an Advance Screening of the forthcoming new IMAX film in 3D! “Magnificent Desolation: Walking on the Moon 3D,” which will give us as close to a feeling of being there as we may ever get.

This special screening, at 7:30 pm on Thursday, September 22, at the IMAX Theater at Navy Pier in Chicago, will be a benefit for the National Space Society and the Astronaut Scholarship Foundation. In addition to being among the first to share this exhilarating 3D experience, you will be helping two worthy causes. Please feel encouraged to bring your friends and children, and to forward this invitation to those who might be interested.

The cost of this event is only $30 per person, $15 for students in high school or younger, and all attendees will receive a free copy of the new 96- page “Apollo 11: First Men on the Moon” Pocket Space Guide (a $10 value). Please note that the theater is small and attendance is limited. Reservations are required, and names will be checked off at the door.

Please respond by signing up online at: (closed).

(If you can’t come, please consider making a donation anyway, at that website.)

If you have any questions, please feel free to email me at (closed). Thanks very much for your attention. I think this Advance Screening will provide an exciting, worthwhile experience for all, while raising funds for two very good causes.

Very truly yours,

Capt. James A. Lovell, USN Ret.
Member, NSS Board of Governors

Hugh Downs, Chairman – Mark Albrecht – Buzz Aldrin – Robert Allnut – Norman R. Augustine – Alan Binder – Frank Borman – Ben Bova – Bruce Boxleitner – Gerald P. Carr – Arthur C. Clarke – Tom Cruise – Michael DeBakey – Karl Doetsch – K, Eric Drexler – Freeman Dyson – Edward R. Finch – Aaron Freeman – Don Fuqua – Newt Gingrich – Peter Glaser – John Glenn – Tom Hanks – Shelley A. Harrison – Bob Hope – Mark Jannot – Robert Jastrow – Irving Kahn – Arthur Kantrowitz – John S. Lewis – John M. Logsdon – James Lovell – Robert McCall – Marvin Minsky – Nichelle Nichols – Frederick I. Ordway III – Bill Pogue – Majel Barrett Roddenberry – Harrison Schmitt – Frederick Seitz – John B. Slaughter – James A. Van Allen – Maria von Braun – Glen P. Wilson – Simon (Pete) Worden – James B. Wyeth